Pslam 119 – Tsadhe

I’ve got 99 problems, but they are all 1st world problems. So who am I to complain?

With that said, everyone has bad days and feels overwhelmed from time to time.  So even though I’m not David hiding in caves from a King that wants to kill him, I think I can relate to the Psalms from time to time.

Trouble and anguish have come upon me, Yet Your commandments are my delight. – Pslam 119:143

Glib attitude aside, I do appreciate that God’s Word is always there for me.  He doesn’t promise an easy path (despite what the Prosperity Gospel preachers would have you believe). He allows us to have hard times and gives us the lamp that we need to guide us out of those times.  His Word is my delight because it comes from Him. Even if it didn’t benefit me at all (and I’d argue that it very much does), it would be worth reading just to draw nearer to God and to honor him with my time and worship.

Sometimes God puts us through trials specifically to point us back to Him.  Sometimes our sin creates enough drama on its own. Sometimes things just happen and we have to work through them in order to keep moving.

The one constant is God.  He’s always there.  His Word is always available.  It has never changed and it is as true today as it was when He spoke the Universe into existence.

Leave a Reply

