Psalm 119 – Yodh

There’s no such thing as a “self-made man.”

America loves to laud men and women that work hard, overcome obstacles, and find success without the aid of inherited wealth.  All that is great in and of itself.  But the phrase “self-made man” is a bit misleading.  God made us all and without him we are nothing and can accomplish nothing.

Your hands made me and fashioned me; Give me understanding, that I may learn Your commandments. – Psalm 119:73

I love the humility of this verse.  It assumes nothing, it boasts of nothing.  He lays his shortcomings at the feet of his maker and asks for Him to give him understanding.  Not so that he can conquer nations or become rich and famous.  But because he wants to learn the Lord’s commandments.

Lord give me understanding of your Word.  Give me the endurance to constantly seek it out.  Give me the strength to fight temptation.  Give me the courage to proclaim your Gospel.  Give me the power of the Holy Spirit to seek after Your will always.

Leave a Reply

