Psalm 119 – Zayin

God’s Word has the power to comfort us in times of great suffering and anxiety.  It doesn’t make the trials go away, but it gives us a perspective and attitude that we simply could not achieve without God’s guidance.

This is my comfort in my affliction, That Your word has revived me. – Psalm 119:50

I can point all the way back to my testimony to the point where this verse rang true.  I was feeling dejected, exiled from my friends, and flat out depressed at my situation.  I opened the Bible and looked for a magic cure that would wipe away all my cares on at least make me feel a little better.  That didn’t happen, at least not right away.  What I did find was verse after verse describing a mighty, all knowing, all powerful God that took the time to care about each of his children.

Through the years the Word has continued to be an inspiration and guide and teacher and dear friend to me.  In the peaks and valleys of my life, the Word is always the same, always pure, always right.  It is my true North, my guiding star, my lighthouse in the storm.

For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. – Romans 8:38

Leave a Reply

