Psalm 119 – Gimel

We live a pampered life in America.  Christians are not dragged out into the street and beaten for their faith.  So I don’t pretend to know what real persecution is like.  There are, however, subtle ways in which the world makes me feel like an outsider.  Like I’m not allowed to sit with the cool kids at lunch.

Jokes are made at the expense of believers and beliefs that I hold firm are ridiculed and scoffed at by intellectuals.  If I allow myself to be discouraged by that, I give the Devil his victory for the day.  If I resist that, then I mute his power.  What better way to resist the Devil than the way Christ did in the desert?  With Scripture.

Even though princes sit and talk against me, Your servant meditates on Your statutes. Your testimonies also are my delight ; They are my counselors. – Pslam 119:23-24

Let the princes of this land have their laughs.  They will either be called to a repentant heart or get their just rewards.  I pray for the former with all my heart.

2 thoughts on “Psalm 119 – Gimel

Leave a Reply

