Wisdom Starts With Humility

Growing up I had a problem with authority.  Not usually to the point of getting in a lot of trouble.  I just had a problem giving respect to people simply because they were older than me.  In some ways, I held my Dad as the standard bearer of respect and those that didn’t measure up to him were unworthy of my submission.

Some of that falls under immaturity.  Teenagers have to walk that line between being a kid and being an adult with both sides pulling at them and confusing their role and position in life.  I didn’t want to be treated like a boy when I was training to be a man.  But there was a good deal of pride and plain old foolishness on my part as well.  Consider these Proverbs.

A wise son accepts his father’s discipline, But a scoffer does not listen to rebuke. – Proverbs 13:1

Through insolence comes nothing but strife, But wisdom is with those who receive counsel. – Proverbs 13:10

Long story short, I only made my own life more difficult when I was being insolent and scoffing at authority.  I could have gained more insight, understanding, and wisdom by submitting myself to those that were trying to guide me through life.  Ironically, by acting my age and playing the part of the boy, I would have gained more maturity and started acting like a man at an earlier age.

Of course this is the kind of wisdom that is easy to have when I’m 38 years old and thinking about how my own kids will be teenagers before long.  But maybe, just maybe, they’ll make fewer of the mistakes that their dad made along the way.

Leave a Reply

