Pride comes before the fall

I take pride in my work.  I’m proud to be an American.  I’m proud of my kids.  Pride in and of itself is not a bad thing.  Just like money is not bad by itself. The problem comes, when there’s too much pride.  Or perhaps it is simply misplaced pride.  Regardless, we’ve seen it all too often: Pride really does come before the fall.  Or as Proverbs 11:2 puts it…

When pride comes, then comes dishonor, But with the humble is wisdom.

I can think back to my most humiliating embarrassments and draw a direct line to my prideful attitude or actions directly beforehand.  Every silly disagreement I’ve had with a loved one had something to do with my pride.  I was putting myself first and attempting to meet my own selfish desires over laying down my life for others. Dishonor is an interesting term here as well.  It is basically the opposite of what the prideful person is looking for.  He wants to be lifted up, but instead he’s hurled down because of his own pride. Conversely, Jesus himself tells us that the last shall be first and the first shall be last.  Note, however, that it does not say that the humble will be glorified.  Only that they’d be with wisdom.  Which is better, vain glory or wisdom?   Even a blogger like me can tell you that all the attention in the world isn’t worth anything compared to a kernel of wisdom from the Lord. There is a good pride that we can’t have enough of though:  2 Corinthians tells us “he who boasts, is to boast in the Lord.”  It only makes sense.  All we have, all we are, all we’ve accomplished is from the Lord.  He made it all possible and allows us these victories and blessings because he loves us so much.  Who wouldn’t want to boast about that?

One thought on “Pride comes before the fall

  1. Pingback: The Demise of Pride and Discipline | Common Sense LivingCommon Sense Living

Leave a Reply

