We’re Given 2 Ears and 1 Mouth For A Reason

Proverbs 10 has several verses concerning talking.  Here are a few.

The wise of heart will receive commands, But a babbling fool will be ruined.  (v 8)

The mouth of the righteous is a fountain of life, But the mouth of the wicked conceals violence. (v. 11)

On the lips of the discerning, wisdom is found, But a rod is for the back of him who lacks understanding. (v. 13)

Wise men store up knowledge, But with the mouth of the foolish, ruin is at hand. (v.14)

As someone who identifies himself as a “blogger” I do a mental cringe when I read the words “babbling fool.”  I hope that what I write about on my sports blog is at least entertaining and hopefully sprinkled with wisdom and understanding.  That’s the goal.  But there are some days when I know that I’m going through the motions and not giving my full effort.  That’s accepted and nobody holds it against me, but it isn’t always profitable.

The saying “better to keep your mouth shut and let people think you are a fool than to open your mouth and prove it” rings in my ears from time to time.

Yet this is how I express myself and live our my Faith.  On this blog I share my Faith openly and humbly hope to provide some words of encouragement and instruction.  On my sports blog, I run the site with a certain set of moral standards that determines everything from how the comments are moderated to what stories we cover and how we cover them.

The challenge, therefore, isn’t to clam up and not say anything.  It is to strive to make our words fruitful and wise.  The goal is to make our words a “fountain of life.”  Just be aware that people are watching and reading and if you let yourself become a babbling fool, then you might find the rod, or worse, ruin.

Lord let my words be edifying and full of wisdom and grace.

2 thoughts on “We’re Given 2 Ears and 1 Mouth For A Reason

  1. Jeff,

    As a casual reader of your blogs (both of them), I find you incredibly edifying and rarely ever uninteresting or verbose. I also revere your determination and courage in creating this blog.

    Oddly over the years, I’ve found myself in a constant state of flux between being slothful (which you addressed in an earlier post) and overzealous with my inevitable slipping of the tongue or simply making a mockery of myself in my attempts to proselytize. And at 31 years of age, I sometimes wonder if I’ll ever properly fulfill what God expects of me.

    Comfortingly, God has provided examples of men (e.g. Abraham, Jacob, & Moses) who required more years of molding in a desert than I’ve been alive to eventually abide in Him – not that this is an excuse to linger. Ultimately, I try to remember that I am on the winning team and similar to blogging, when you’re on the winning team you don’t really care what the losing team’s bloggers have to say about you.

Leave a Reply

