I resolve to have less resolve and more faith

The whole concept of New Years Resolutions is at best silly and at worst dangerous.  I mean, it fits with the American bootstraps mentality that “if I work hard enough, I can do whatever I want.”  There’s a lot of “I’s” in that statement, which doesn’t leave a lot of room for God.

I’m not trying to be a kill-joy.  If someone wants to use New Years Day as a nice starting point for getting back into a workout routine or diet or start a project of some sort, that’s perfectly reasonable.  The holidays are over and there’s simply more time and opportunity to get back into good habits and routines.

I would just humbly caution folks not to put too much weight and personal value into how long you keep your “resolutions.”  Don’t feed into the downward spiral of effort-failure-dejection-resignation-self-pity and so forth.  It only leads you as far as you carry yourself, which isn’t very far.  In fact, the whole concept of pulling oneself up by their own bootstraps is a pretty comical one considering the law of gravity.

Instead of working on fixing ourselves (an impossible task) why not let the only one who is qualified to make us better people do his work in us.  Allow God to sanctify you by submitting yourself in reverent fear and worship to him.

The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom, And the knowledge of the Holy One is understanding. For by me your days will be multiplied, And years of life will be added to you. – Proverbs 9:10-11

I resolve to have less resolve and more faith in Jesus Christ to make me a better person.

Leave a Reply

