Rejoicing In Bin Laden’s Justice

A still of 2004 Osama bin Laden video

Receiving justice as we speak

This is a complicated topic that I’m not completely confident in commenting on but can’t help addressing.  So I’ll give you a link to someone smarter than I and allow you to review the passages below.  (Note: I think it is important to read the context around each verse to fully grasp what their meaning is – but that should be a given any time we hear or read scripture quotes.)

In one sense, human death is not God’s pleasure:

Have I any pleasure in the death of the wicked, declares the Lord God, and not rather that he should turn from his way and live? . . .  For I do not pleasure in the death of anyone, declares the Lord God; so turn, and live. (Ezekiel 18:23, 32).

In another sense, the death and judgment of the unrepentant is God’s pleasure:

Thus shall my anger spend itself, and I will vent my fury upon them and satisfy myself. (Ezekiel 5:13][Wisdom calls out:] Because you have ignored all my counsel and would have none of my reproof, I also will laugh at your calamity; I will mock when terror strikes you. (Proverbs 1:25–26)

Rejoice over her, O heaven, and you saints and apostles and prophets, for God has given judgment for you against her! (Revelation 18:20)

As the Lord took delight in doing you good . . . so the Lord will take delight in bringing ruin upon you and destroying you. (Deuteronomy 28:63)

We should not cancel out any of these passages but think our way through to how they can all be true.

Part of me is thrilled that Bin Laden is getting his justice for eternity directed by the all powerful and perfect judge of all.  Another part of me knows it is not my place to take pleasure in the death of anyone, including the wicked (I’m still working on that).  Yet another part of me knows that this is a solemn occasion either way, because it is a painful reminder of the events of that horrible day.  And another part of me understands that God is in control and has a plan for each one of us as well as our country and the whole world.  In Him alone do we trust.

One thought on “Rejoicing In Bin Laden’s Justice

Leave a Reply

