An Encouraging Word

Proverbs 16:24

Pleasant words are a honeycomb , Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.

I’m a big believer in the 5 Love Languages and I have found that my primary love language is affirmation.  Part of me thinks it is silly to need other people to build me up.  Shouldn’t I have enough confidence in myself to go about my business doing the best that I can, regardless of praise or recognition?  Perhaps, but there is a fine line between being humble and being overlooked.

Lets face it, it feels good to be encouraged.  Positive feedback just charges my batteries like few other things can.  It puts a smile on my face and motivates me to strive for greater success (and of course more praise!).

So, flipping this around, it is clear that if it does so much good for me, logically it would be something that others would enjoy as well.  Not everyone is wired the way I am.  Lots of people don’t even know what to do with praise.  They brush it off and would sometimes will even say that they would prefer to be anonymous.  Far be it from me to tell them how to feel, but I would submit that even in those cases, deep down, a well placed  compliment still feels good.

So my challenge to myself and anyone else reading this blog is to speak kindly to those around you today and find a few select individuals to lift up with words of affirmation.  It should prove to be sweet to their souls and may provide healing to them that you didn’t even know they needed.

Leave a Reply

