I’m The Most Humble Man In The World

K2 in summer.

Movable Mountain

Proverbs 16:18

Pride goes before destruction, And a haughty spirit before stumbling.

No, I don’t think I’m the most humble man in the world (obviously that’s an oxymoron).  Quite the opposite actually.  I’m an attention seeker and a self promoter and a compliment fisher.  (Anyone who blogs and tells you otherwise is kidding themselves)  And don’t let my self deprecating tone fool you, I’m quite in love with myself and that’s ok to a point but ultimately misguided.

There’s a fine line between confidence and conceitedness.  The Lord tells us to be meek, not weak.  The Bible and the Law point out our sin and our flaws, but Christ allows our strengths and talents to shine through.

The key, I humbly submit, is the Lord.  He gives us the talents.  He blesses us with opportunity and provides us with the environment to thrive.  Through his strength and power we can achieve anything – in particular when we are doing his will.

I believe that it is right to be honored with the gifts that the Lord has blessed you with as long as you keep in mind they are from him, and not you.  The Bible instructs us to boast in the Lord, not in ourselves.

In short, with the strength of the Lord I can move mountains in his name.  Apart from him, I’m really not much worth boasting about.

Leave a Reply

