Casting Crowns

KingsCrown

Image via Wikipedia

Rev 4:10-11

the twenty-four elders will fall down before Him who sits on the throne, and will worship Him who lives forever and ever, and will cast their crowns before the throne, saying, “Worthy are You, our Lord and our God, to receive glory and honor and power ; for You created all things, and because of Your will they existed, and were created.”

I have enjoyed my new Casting Crowns CD that I got for Christmas but that’s not what I really want to talk about here.  I just wanted to say how much I love the name of that band.  It is simple, straightforward, and points directly to the above passage of scripture.

I find that verse very challenging and encouraging at the same time.  You see 24 elders that have received crowns of glory for what they’ve done but when they are before the Lord Himself, they have a very interesting reaction.   They hurl the crowns down at the Lord’s feet, not because they don’t appreciate the praise, but because they feel wholly unworthy in comparison.

The crowns are a representation of all that they are and they are in essence saying “here Lord, this is all that I have to give you, it isn’t enough and it could never match what you deserve for being you, but it is the best I can do for now.”

In essence that is how I felt when I first became a believer.  I was a single, unemployed college kid staring at an unpaved road ahead of me (metaphorically that is).  I distinctly remember thinking and praying to the Lord that I had nothing really to offer him except all of me so that’s what I would give.

The same is true today as it is for all of us.  What have we to give that is worth giving to the Lord of the Universe?  Our money going to ministries or charities is great and all, but that might do more for our souls and the people involved than it does for the Lord himself.  Our meager possessions are on loan from us from the Lord anyway.  But when you give yourself, when you give your broken, sinful, clumsy, imperfect self to the all powerful, perfect, loving Lord, he rejoices.

And we can continually give ourselves over to him by casting our crowns at his feet and saying “Lord, what I have and what I’ve done is nothing compared to what you are.  But here is all of me; do with me what you will.”

Leave a Reply

