Discipline of the Lord

Proverbs 3:11-12

My son, do not reject the discipline of the LORD Or loathe His reproof, 12 For whom the LORD loves He reproves, Even as a father corrects the son in whom he delights.

My daughter is going to turn 2 in November.  I’m about to get a crash course in what it is like to have to discipline a child.  This should be fun.

What I can already relate to is the love a father has for his child.  Nothing floored me more than seeing my daughter for the first time.  It is cliche but I have to say that I’ll never forget that moment for the rest of my life.

So I can’t imagine raising that precious little girl without instilling her with Godly values and you can’t do that without discipline.  I heard a sermon recently where the pastor asked the questions:

  • Do you have to teach a child to be selfish?  Do you have to teach a child to hit other kids?  Do you have to teach a child to misbehave?  Or do they just inherently know how to do those things?
  • Now, do they inherently know how to share?  Or how to say “please” and “thank you” and “may I?”  Or do you have to teach them?

The point was that sin is inherited and that we need discipline to make us more godly.

So the point here is, I love my child too much to let her sin without being corrected.  She won’t always like the correction and sometimes it will have to take the form of appropriate punishment.  But I hope she will see that I’m doing it out of my deep love for her.

Likewise, the Lord has a much deeper love for us.  So when he allows us to suffer the consequences of our sins it is because he loves us.

What are some examples of discipline from the Lord?  Hard to say really, because we can never fully understand God’s rationale.  Sometimes stuff happens that has little to do with us but fits into his overall plan.  But here are some examples that I can think of that you could say might be God’s little ways of discipline.

  • hangovers for excess drinking
  • bulging waistlines for gluttony
  • guilt!
  • STDs? (in some cases)
  • getting caught (lying, stealing, etc.)

But perhaps the most common way that God discipline’s is by using an authority figure in your life to do it for him.  It might be your parents or your teachers or your boss.  So don’t get mad at them or at God.  Just understand that he’s looking out for your best interests out of love.

Leave a Reply

