The Valleys Fill First

Psalm 93:3-4

The floods have lifted up, O LORD, The floods have lifted up their voice, The floods lift up their pounding waves. More than the sounds of many waters, Than the mighty breakers of the sea, The LORD on high is mighty.

This Psalm reminded me of a song I was just listening to today (funny how God works in subtle ways like that).  Valleys Fill First is a wonderful song by Caedmon’s Call and you can find the lyrics here, but I’ll highlight a few below.

Down in this wasteland I miss the
mountaintop view
But it’s here in this valley that
I’m surrounded by you
Though I’m not here by my will
it’s whre your view is the most clear
So I’ll stay in this valley if it takes 40 years

Basically the song writer is saying that even when he’s at a low point in his life, he knows that he’s there because of God.  When the Lord floods the land (with his love this time, instead of water) the “water” goes to the lowest point and lifts him up.

The Psalmist also feels lifted up by the Lord’s floods, which make a powerful noise throughout the land.

I think we can see God’s mercy as well as his amazing power.  We are sinners that deserve punishment, but instead of bringing down the hammer on us, he shows us mercy and lifts us up with gentle hands.  I love it.

Leave a Reply

