God Never Forgets, We Do

Pslam 77:8-11

Has his unfailing love vanished forever? Has his promise failed for all time?
Has God forgotten to be merciful? Has he in anger withheld his compassion?” “Selah”
Then I thought, “To this I will appeal: the years of the right hand of the Most High.”
I will remember the deeds of the Lord; yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago.

Once again, I love the way that the Psalms present human emotion and naked honesty.  The Psalmist presents real fears that when we soberly consider God are clearly unfounded.

“Has his unfailing love vanished forever?”  The question contradicts itself.  How can unfailing love fail?

“Has God forgotten to be merciful?”  Yeah, I’m sure it just slipped his mind.

Perhaps this is just a way of making the Psalmist’s point.  Perhaps he is putting up straw man statements so that he can tear them down later.  But that doesn’t mean we don’t all let these rouge thoughts pass through our heads from time to time.

I know on more than one occasion I’ve wondered if God remembered me or cared about me.  At our most lonely moments, it isn’t hard to project those feelings of rejection onto the Lord, who might just be the only one we can know for sure hasn’t forgotten about us.

I don’t believe this is necessarily a case of lacking faith.  I think it is a matter of being human.  It is impossible to fully fathom a perfect God because in our experience, we’ve never met someone perfect.  All our experiences are with fallible people.  It becomes doubly hard when you consider the presence of Jesus on the Earth.  It is easier for me to picture a spirit in the clouds that has no flaw.  But Jesus walked with us.  He had emotions of his own.  He had friends and enemies.  He had good times and tragic moments.  Yet he was without sin.  I can’t even wrap my mind around that.

So it is only natural that we sometimes fall into feeling like God somehow forget about us or his promises to us.  But my best advice is to do what the Psalmist does.  “I will remember the deeds of the Lord; yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago.”

Open up your Bible and read a story about God’s faithfulness.  You’ll see that God never lets us out of his grip even for a moment.  Forgetting is not in his nature.  Try not to forget it.

Leave a Reply

