A Chance To Reflect & Dream

I enjoy New Years for more than just the parties.  I really like reflecting on the past year and what it meant to me and my family.  This year is even more special because we are entering a new decade.  So the scope of reflection is expanded tenfold.

Think about where you were ten years ago.  Think about what you were doing, who you were dating, who you were hanging around with.  Think about what your dreams were. 

At that time, where did you see yourself in 5 to 10 years.  Did you get there?  Why or why not?  If not, how has God blessed you in other ways?

For me, I was in grad school hoping to catch onto a small but growing business.  I also wanted to get married and start a family but I wasn’t dating anyone at the time. 

In the years that followed, I did work for a small company but discovered that I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would.  So I returned to corporate America and I’ve been there ever since.  Turns out I was able to scratch that entreprenurial itch by starting a blog about my Celtics which ended up being a huge success.  Funny how God answers your prayers in ways you wouldn’t expect.  That’s why he’s God and we need to trust him even when things don’t seem to make sense.

As you might have guessed, I also met my wonderful wife, fell in love, got married, and had my first child.  Again, I wouldn’t say my courtship played out like I imagined in my romantic daydreams, but I’m with the woman of my dreams and that’s what’s important.

So where will I be in 10 years time?  Maybe I’ll be in the higher levels of management by then.  Or perhaps I’ll have left corporate America for a Sports writing career.  Who knows?

Lord willing, I’ll be raising a couple of kids, one of which will be 11 (and I’ll be cherishing the time before she becomes a teenager!).  Goodness, I’ll be 44 years old.  Sounds like a great time to buy a sportscar! 

Regardless, I mostly just hope to be following God’s lead and in turn guiding my family as a positive Spiritual leader.  If I can have that, the rest is just details.

One thought on “A Chance To Reflect & Dream

Leave a Reply

