Love the Daily Prayer

I told you about A Daily Prayer earlier this week and promised to pray through it every day this week.  Well, wonder of wonders, I followed through on that (even on the day I slept through my alarm and got in an hour late to work) and I’ve been thrilled with the whole thing.

Like I said, it is intimidating at first because it is so long.  However, for me at least, that’s a blessing in disguise.  You see, I have to force myself to sit down and read the whole thing which takes my attention off of other things.

That’s not to say my mind was actively wandering during my morning devotions before.  But somehow if I only give myself 5 to 10 minutes of study time and don’t follow it up with devoted prayer, there’s just something missing.  My mind is sort of half in, half gearing up for the day of work.

Reading through something this long takes me away from all distractions and by the end I’m immersed in the prayer.  I even feel led to continue praying after I’m done reading because it I want to personalize it more and I don’t want to leave that state of communion with God.

The key is to be still (“Be still and know that I am God”).  Maybe you don’t need to read through that prayer to be still, and that’s great.  Whatever you need to do to get to that point, do it.  Turn off the monitor on your computer.  Find a quiet room in your home.  Throw your cell phone in a drawer somewhere.  Whatever.  Just set aside that time to be with God every day.  You will be enriched by it.

Leave a Reply

