Rest

Psalm 62:1-2

My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

Rest? What’s that?  This is Christmas season after all. Who has time to rest?  Too many responsibilities, too many distractions, too much stuff to fill the hours of my day.  And it isn’t just the physical wear and tear.  It is the emotional drain of one thing after another.  After a long day of work, I’m happy to see my baby girl, but some days she can be a handful.  After putting her to sleep I’ve got blogging and other responsibilities to take care of.  By the time I’m done with that it is time to head off to get a few hours of sleep before starting it all over.

Rest is hard to come by sometimes.  Or is it?

In truth, if I stop and take a few moments out of my busy schedule to focus my eyes on the Heavens and reflect on the gift of grace that God has already bestowed upon me, I can revel in the wonder of his love.

I’m very much looking forward to a vacation I’ve got planned that is coming up in about a month.  But every day that I set aside some time with Jesus I get a mini-vacation from the stress and burdens of my life.  (And it also helps give me the perspective that my life is actually very cushy and pampered in relation to how much of the world lives)

I think that this rest that we get from our “rock” and “fortress” allows us to echo the Pslamist by saying “I will never be shaken.”  Christ does the heavy lifting for us, so that we can rest at ease in the fortress that is him.

Leave a Reply

