You Are What Your Record Says You Are

Legendary coach Bill Parcells made the statement “You are what your record says you are.”  His point was, maybe you think you should have won a few more games and you think your team could have been better if a few bounces of the ball went one way or another.  But at the end of the day, you are defined by your record.

Which leads me to this post by the Irish Calvinist.  I think it is summed up best in the following sentence.

At the end of the day our true theology is how we live.

Let that soak in for a minute.  He goes on to explain:

It is the picture of arrogance and hypocrisy to think that biblical Christianity is true and that you have got everything all figured out; we all have our blind spots and issues.  We all need to grow.  We need to reform. None on earth are glorified.

Therefore, we study and learn so that we might know, love and serve God better–not to just be affirmed, get a fat head, or intoxicate ourselves with self-righteousness.

There are also dozens of examples he gives.  Here are a few that pop out:

We confess that God is loving and good but yet complain and bemoan circumstances.

We confess that God answers prayer but yet there is dust in our prayer closets.

I’m a firm believer in salvation through faith alone (not by works).  With that said, I’m also a firm believer that you display your walk with God by how you live your life.

As a matter of self inventory, I really need to work on praying more.  It is sheer laziness and neglect and there is absolutely no downside to prayer and all the upside in the universe.

Also, I think I do a good job of being non-judgmental towards other people but I often lack the follow through to reach out and love those same people.  Is that my theology?  My record says it is.  I’m a lukewarm lover of my neighbor.  I give them a polite nod and welcoming smile and some shallow conversation and move on with my narcissistic life.  Lord give me more zeal to reach out to my fellow man.

I’d encourage you to follow the link and read through some of the examples yourself.  Take some time to do some inventory of your own.  What is your theology?  What would you like it to be?

One thought on “You Are What Your Record Says You Are

  1. Yea I hear you on the prayer thing. I’ve been working on that myself. Granted its fits and starts, but I’m trying to be like Jesus and pick a repeateable time and place to meet with the Father. So far for me its when I wake up and am in the shower, and before I go to bed. I’ve taken to standing up by the side of the bed instead of laying in it or kneeling as I fall asleep easy.

    Doing it for a week was good, but then I got sloppy and have not been as consistant.

Leave a Reply

