Movies About Writers

I just recently watched a movie called The Soloist staring Robert Downey Jr. and Jamie Foxx.  It was a pretty good film with a good message and some good acting.  But what I enjoyed the most, and what triggered this post, was the way the movie captured a writer going through the creative process of writing.

Basically I’m a sucker for movies about writers.  In the same way that an action flick makes me want to go out and save the world, a writing movie stirs me up inside and makes me want to write.

Here are some more of my favorite movies about writers or writing.

  • Finding Forester: A writer who plays basketball, perfect!  “Punch the keys!” says Sean Connery.
  • Shakespeare In Love: I’m a big fan of the Bard and the clever way they wove the Romeo & Juliet story into the film was great fun.
  • Almost Famous: The scenes with Lester Bangs are just classic.  “The only true currency in this bankrupt world… is what you share with someone else when you’re uncool.”

Also, though these aren’t specifically about writing, I have to mention “A River Runs Through It” and “Dead Poets Society.”  Both brilliantly done.

Are there any that I’m missing?  Any suggestions?

One thought on “Movies About Writers

Leave a Reply

