Who Are My Enemies?

Pslam 59:1

Deliver me from my enemies, O God; protect me from those who rise up against me.

Yes Lord, deliver me from my enemies, …and as soon as I figure out who they are, I’ll elaborate more.

I don’t mean to be too flippant about this, but I think it shows just how sheltered and pampered a life I lead.  I live in suburbia, I have a steady job, lovely wife and child, and I can’t think of the last time I felt attacked by someone on any level.  Oh sure, there’s the occasional internet troll or perhaps someone cuts me off in traffic, but such things are forgotten faster than they occur and don’t really register on my scale.

I think the things I struggle with much more are the same two things that the Church as a whole is struggling with.  Those two things are, as my friend put it recently, “I don’t know and I don’t care.”  Meaning ignorance and apathy.  Ignorance, meaning I don’t know enough and I don’t work hard enough at studying the word to know more.  Still, I wouldn’t consider myself my enemy, …well not usually.

So I suppose that leaves Satan. Now I’m not a big believer in blaming all of one’s woes on the devil.  I think we all have a sinful nature that does a good enough job of tripping us up without devilish intervention.  On the other hand, I cannot discount the fact that there’s a fallen angel out there who’s soul purpose is to fight against the Lord’s creation.  In theory, he could be working to increase and promote ignorance and apathy in my life and in the Church as a whole.  In fact, I wouldn’t bet against it.

So Lord, give me a watchful eye and protection against the devil.  Help me be zealous and motivated to be more like Christ every day.

Leave a Reply

