Arise! Shine!

Pslam 57:8

Awake, my soul! Awake, harp and lyre! I will awaken the dawn.

Everyone needs a pep talk now and then.  I think it applies to one’s Spiritual life as well.

I woke up this morning just draaaaaging.  I would have paid money to sleep another half an hour.  I slept-walked to the shower and I barely remember shaving (the other day I missed the part under my left sideburn entirely – it was a good look).  Sometimes my Spiritual life feels a little like this morning did.  Foggy, hazy, going through the motions.

Sometimes you need a verse like this to wake you up.  It reminds me of another favorite verse of mind – Ish 60:1 “Arise. Shine. For the glory of the Lord rises upon you.”  That is a command.  The Lord commands you to shine.  You don’t have a choice in the matter, you can’t screw it up, you don’t even have the opportunity to fail.  You will shine because the Lord said so (and he’s doing the heavy lifting anyway).

So re-read the verse and pray it.  Say it out loud.  Don’t let your soul be silent.  Shake the cobwebs off your zeal.  Sing, shout, dance, do whatever you can to worship the Lord.  And keep doing it till you wake up the dawn!

Leave a Reply

