‘Be Still And Know That I Am God’

Pslam 46:10

“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

Tell me if this sounds familiar.  You set aside time to get into the Word, you read a passage out of the Bible for a few minutes, then you look at the clock and you realize that you are out of time and you have to get going (to pick up the kids, go to work, get some sleep, whatever).  If I asked you what you read about, you maybe could tell me the general idea, but not details.  If I asked you to tell me how God spoke to you through those verses, you’d draw a complete blank.

Believe me, this happens to me all the time.  A packed schedule and several responsibilities have me pulled in many directions.  It is hard enough to set aside time in the Word and when I’m there, I’m too often distracted and rushed.

The Lord knows that we are in constant motion so he puts up his hand and says “be still.”  He knows that we are distracted by things of this world so he reminds us what is truly important.  “Be still and know that I am God.”  Sure, we “know” that he is God, but when we slow down, focus on him, and think about what that means, it rocks us to the bone.

It is amazing how everything comes into focus when you block out all the other “important” things in life and just sit in reverence of God.  For when you are in his presence, you cannot help but to exalt him.  And when you walk away from that experience, your vision is clearer, your head is cleared of the clouds, and you find yourself focused on the eternal instead of the temporal.

Be still.

Leave a Reply

