Self Motivational Speaker

Psalm 43:5

Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.

There are a thousand reasons why I love the Pslams, but one of the biggest ones is the way David works out his Faith so openly with the Lord.  Read through this Pslam from the start (it is only 5 verses) and see how he openly questions God and half pleads/half commands God to come to his aid.  You can almost hearthe panic in his voice.  But by the end of the Pslam, he is working to calm himself down by holding on to the truth of the Lord.

Vindicate me, O God, and plead my cause against an ungodly nation; rescue me from deceitful and wicked men.
You are God my stronghold. Why have you rejected me? Why must I go about mourning, oppressed by the enemy?
Send forth your light and your truth, let them guide me; let them bring me to your holy mountain, to the place where you dwell.
Then will I go to the altar of God, to God, my joy and my delight. I will praise you with the harp, O God, my God.
Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.

This kind of Faith is so genuine.  So naked.  So exposed and open to the Lord.  Unashamed and without pretense.

Too often, I think, we try to put on a front pretending that we’ve got it all under control.  We don’t act like we need any help because that’s a sign of weakness.  We don’t accept help because we are too proud.

Not David.  He knows from whom his real strength comes from.  He knows who can deliver him from times of trouble.  He goes directly to the source and lays his soul at the feet of God and says “I need you, don’t ignore me, help me now!”

And here’s the key point.  Just by doing so, just by laying himself prostrate at the almighty God’s feet, he knows instantly that his prayers will be answered.  He doesn’t skip a beat.  It is almost as if he shakes himself out of his panic and talks sense into himself.

Sometimes I need that too.  I know in my head that God is working through all things for his Glory and for the good of his Saints, but I don’t always act like I know that.  I need to remind myself from time to time of that truth and take comfort in it and praise the Lord for it.

Leave a Reply

