Thirst

Psalm 42:1

As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God.

I’ve always been struck by the beauty of this imagery and I’ve always been challenged by it.

This isn’t just a nice feeling when thinking about God.  This isn’t just something the author does on Sunday mornings or around other believers.  This is a fundamental need, like air, food, and of course water.  Think about how your body reacts when there’s no water to drink.  You have to find that water, it isn’t an option.

Is my walk like that with the Lord?  Not often enough, no.  There are days when I simply forget to focus on God for more than a few moments.  Life gets in the way when it shouldn’t.  Distractions distract when they should be set aside.

I want to get to that point where spending time with the Lord is just as important as any of the 3 meals of the day.  Where I would feel an uncontrollable yearning for the Word when I’ve gone too long without it.  I’m working on it, but I’m not quite there yet.  I have a feeling that the more time I spend with the Lord, the more this will happen.

Lord make me thirsty.

One thought on “Thirst

Leave a Reply

