God’s Longing

Today I’m taking a brief break from the Psalms to share a devotional that I enjoyed from Greg Laurie.

“As surely as I live,” says the Sovereign Lord, “I take no pleasure in the death of wicked people. I only want them to turn from their wicked ways so they can live.”

We wonder about the fate of people who have never heard the gospel—would God send them to hell? To me this indicates an incorrect view of God, because the idea is that God would somehow want to send someone to hell, or at the very least, wouldn’t care if someone went there. But that is not the God of the Bible.

If we learn nothing else from the Bible, we should learn that God loves humanity and longs for fellowship and friendship with us. God doesn’t want any person to go to hell, and the best evidence of this is the fact that He poured out His wrath on His own Son. No father wants his child to be harmed and would gladly take that harm upon himself if it were possible. But God loved us so much that He put His judgment on His Son who had never committed a single sin so that we would not have to go to hell.

Very well said.  One of the hardest truths to reconcile in our faith is “why would God allow people to go to hell if he loves us so much?”  I’m not saying I have a clear answer that is going to satisfy everyone.  But I do believe that God does indeed love us all.  Knowing that, and knowing that God is all-knowing and all-powerful helps me to have faith that he’s doing what is best, regardless of my feeble ability to comprehend his ways.

Leave a Reply

