Need A Little Patience

Psalm 40:1

I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry.

Sometimes the hardest lesson to learn is patience.  It is in our nature to want to solve things and resolve things that nag at us.  It is maddening to have to sit back and wait for them to be solved for us.

The Lord does hear our cries.  There are times when our prayers go unanswered because we ask with the wrong motives.  But sometimes we’ve got our eyes fixed on the Lord, our hearts in the right place, and the support of others, yet God tells us to wait.  Sometimes God even puts a strong desire on our hearts and gives us a pretty clear vision of the future, but still tells us to wait.

God himself is the only one who knows the “why” in those scenarios.  Though sometimes we can look back and see the method in it all.  Out of college I wanted desperately to meet a Godly woman, settle down, and eventually start a family that loved the Lord with all our hearts.  Can’t see too much greedy or misaligned with the Lord on that front.  Yet it took 7 long years to happen for me.  What a humbling, frustrating, and soul searching time that was for me.  However, it was also a time of great growth and maturation.  And I suppose that was the point.  My heart was ready but the rest of me had some catching up to do and only God can make that call.  But now I’m happily married to a wonderful woman and I’ve got a beautiful 11 month old child that I’m praying for every night as I rock her to sleep.

Platitudes like “good things come to those who wait” are all well and good, but they don’t make the waiting person feel all that much better.  All I can say is that the Lord hears your cries and he’s got your best interests in mind.  So follow hard after him and he will set your paths straight.

Leave a Reply

