The Desires Of Your Heart

Pslam 37:4

Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart

Walking around the mall the other day, I saw a display with a Ferrari, a Maserati, and a Lamborghini.  Lord, I desire one of those cars.  Gimme, gimme, gimme!

Ok, ok.  Perhaps that wasn’t “desire” so much as it was coveting.  But you get the point I’m trying to make… or rather not make.

I do not believe in the name-it-claim-it prosperity theology and I do not believe that God is going to bless us financially if we simply have enough faith.  So the Ferrari will have to wait until I can earn it myself or perhaps when I can drive it around in Heaven.

What I do believe is that you have to read the scriptures carefully sometimes.  God doesn’t just give you whatever is on your heart.  He first qualifies it with “delight yourself in the Lord.”  So if you are truly delighting yourself in the Lord, your greatest desire will be to honor him above all else.

Also, if the Lord “gives you desires” you could read that to mean that He is going to change your heart to align with his own.  In other words, maybe I want a Ferrari, but God wants me to want to help other people.  If I’m truly right with God, I’ll want to help other people for the Glory of the Lord and guess what, …he’ll make that happen.

That doesn’t mean I feel shortchanged in anyway.  Think about who God is for a moment.  He knows what is best for me and for my fellow man.  He knows what will benefit my life and those around me.  He knows that I’m not perfect and I don’t always have the right motives in mind.  If I focus on him, everything lines up and God blesses me a million times more than a silly car would.

Besides, I hear that those cars are super expensive to maintain.

Leave a Reply

