Humble Thyself

Psalm 32:5

Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord”– and you forgave the guilt of my sin. “Selah”

We are all very good at justifying our sin.  We are all experts at covering it up, locking it up somewhere hidden, and never speaking of it to anyone.  Shame drives us to hide it and pride drives us to ignore it.

But it is still there.

The Lord forgives freely, but we have to ask for that forgiveness.  We have to first admit to ourselves that we are sinners and then confess it to the Lord.  When you think about it, he knows already.  So we might as well make things right with him.

Of course it isn’t all that easy.  Years and years of habits formed by coping with sin and ignoring it are hard to overcome.  But I strong urge you to take inventory of your heart and seek out any unresolved burdens.  And they are burdens.  Even if you ignore them, they weigh on you.

The Lord takes your burdens and gives you freedom from sin.  You just have to let him.

Leave a Reply

