Wake up and Rejoice

One of my favorite Christian blogs “Irish Calvinist” wrote today on the Psalms, so I thought I’d pass along his thoughts.  (I’m also partial to him because he’s a Celtics fan!)

Psalm 40:16

But may all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you; may those who love your salvation say continually, “Great is the LORD!”

You should see his full post here, but this was my favorite part.

God is so faithful. I wake up in the morning, draw a breath, open my eyes and remember that God has sent his Son to make me a worshiper. I remember that I am not an enemy of God under his condemnation but a friend of God wrapped in the infinitely valuable righteousness of Jesus. This is not a dream. This is not a theory. This is reality!! Jesus Christ is my Savior! The one who is the supreme object of the Father’s affections has now, by divine grace, become my delight!!

Well said.  The only right and correct response to Christ’s salvation is to worship Him.  Not just in church on Sunday, but in everything we do.  And I especially like the idea of waking up thinking of Christ the first thing in the morning.  What a great way to start a day.

Leave a Reply

