Heaven On Earth

Psalm 27:4

One thing I ask of the Lord, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to seek him in his temple.

Once again, what a great prayer!  (Like I should be surprised.  This is the Word of God after all.)

On the surface you might be saying “Wait a minute.  You mean you want to spend all your days in church just looking at God?  How boring is that?”

First of all, church is a great place to see God, but Jesus also says that our bodies are a temple.  And all believers have the Holy Spirit within us (within our temple) so in essence we can seek him everywhere we go, in everything we do.

Secondly, I think you have to understand what it means to “gaze upon the beauty of the Lord.”  Well, when I say “understand” I mean “try to understand” because none of us can comprehend the Lord fully.  We’re talking about unlimited power, yet unending love.  We’re talking about the architect of the Universe, yet a close personal friend to you and me.  We’re talking about everything good and completely devoid of evil.  We’re talking perfection here folks.

Now consider what we look at every day.  Everything from the TV to the internet to books to whatever other distraction we put in front of our eyes.  None of these are bad things.  But they are flawed.  Not perfect.  They fall short.

So when I chose to gaze upon the Lord, I know that there isn’t any better place I could be focusing my eyes.  To me this seems like a bit of a preview for Heaven.

Again, with my limited ability to comprehend the Lord, I think it sounds boring to sit around singing to the Lord in Heaven.  But I think you have to consider how happy and content and excited you would be to actually be in Heaven.  I don’t know if there will be singing all day long (in fact I don’t think there are days, but I digress).  I do know that I’ll be so busy enjoying Heaven that the concept of “boring” won’t even enter my mind.

So my prayer today is to dwell in the presence of the Lord all my days and to seek the beauty of his face.  I may not be able to see the full picture yet, but I think I can see a preview of coming attractions.

Leave a Reply

