Who Can Be Against Us?

Psalm 16:8-9

I have set the LORD always before me. Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.
Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest secure,

It is exceedingly easy to get anxious about any number of things in this life.  The news reminds us of dangers at every turn and we know that there are people out there looking for any opportunity to take advantage of us for profit or personal gain.  The economy has created layoffs in even the most secure professions.  The world is a scary place sometimes.

Which is why it is so wonderful that the Lord of the universe is on our side.

I always try to come up with sports analogies to make this point – but they don’t always paint a perfect image.  I mean, I could say that God is like Adrian Peterson and the World is a bunch of 90 lb. weaklings, and when we hand the ball off to God, we know that a touchdown is secure.  Or I could say that in the basketball game of life, God is the Michael Jordan teammate who will never let your team lose.  But MJ and AP are not gods and life isn’t a game with clear winners and losers and …well I could go on, but at some point all analogies break down and these seem weaker than most.

The fact is, we don’t always “win” in life.  In fact, sometimes we suffer and feel more pain than we think we deserve.  Some people simply get dealt a harsh hand and have to find a way to deal with it.  God doesn’t promise prosperity and an easy life.  He just promises that we’ll never be given more than we can handle.  He promises that he will always be there for us.   It is the old cliche: you don’t always get what you want, but you get what you need.

And when it comes to eternal salvation, he promises that if we accept him as Lord of our lives, that he’ll never let us out of his grasp.

This is what makes me feel secure enough to leave the comfort of my home each day.  This is why I can sleep at night.  I can’t fight every battle alone, but with God I’m ready for anything.

“If God is for us, who can be against us?” – Romans 8:31

One thought on “Who Can Be Against Us?

  1. Great post.
    To back up your point about God not always making it easy for everyone, look at the hand He deals Paul, John, Peter, Jesus even. They all had big suffering to endure. And there’s no doubt that he loved those men. Heck think of the suffering and ridicule that Mary (Jesus’ mother) had to endure being pregnant out of wedlock. Yet she was blessed and loved by the Lord.

Leave a Reply

