Shout It On The Rooftops

Psalm 9:1

I will praise you, O Lord, with all my heart; I will tell of all your wonders.

When it boils down to it, that’s what I’m trying to do here.  Praise God with all my heart and tell of his wonders.  When I reflect on what He has done for me, I can’t help but want to share that information with others.

When someone is kind to you, even in a small way with some random act of kindness, don’t you want to thank them and tell other people what a nice person they are?  Now imagine if someone saved your life from certain death.  How much more would you feel the impulse to thank them and tell the world about them?  Well the Lord saved me from eternal suffering and promised me a place in Heaven.  What can I do but rejoice and tell the world that He’s the all-powerful, all-loving God?

Now many are skeptical of what they cannot see, feel, or touch.  Many have had bad experiences with Christians in the past.  Many simply don’t believe.  I can’t change anyone’s mind and I’m no great theologian or debater.  All I can do is tell you my story and let you see for yourself.

One of these days I’m going to put down my full story (my “testimony” as Christian circles like to call it) but for now a summary is sufficient.

I was once wandering through life, seeking purpose, seeking something larger than myself, but unsure of where to find it.  At a very low moment in my life, feeling alone and depressed, I turned to the Bible almost out of boredom.  The words that I read grabbed my heart and stopped me in my tracks.

If God is for us, who can be against us? – Romans 8:31

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.  – Romans 8:38-39

Those words still stop me in my tracks.  And they changed my life forever.

I now have purpose where I once had wandering.  I now have peace where I once had longing.  I now have love where I once had emptiness.

Once again, I can’t convince anyone that Jesus is the way, the truth, and the light.  I can only point to my life and say that I have been blessed continually because of Him.  And because of that, I can’t stop talking about Him.

Leave a Reply

