Have Mercy

Psalm 6:1-2

O Lord, do not rebuke me in your anger or discipline me in your wrath.
Be merciful to me, Lord, for I am faint; O Lord, heal me, for my bones are in agony.

Things you don’t read in this passage (or any of the Psalms):

  • “Its not my fault”
  • “I’m not responsible for my actions because…”
  • “You have no right to judge me”
  • “What is wrong and right anyway?  What could be wrong for you could be right for me.”
  • “I didn’t do that, maybe you misremembered.”

All of our excuses go out the door when we are faced with the all knowing, all powerful, omnipresent Lord of the Universe.  If we allow ourselves to truely reflect on the nature of the Lord, we are struck by one overwhelming truth:   He knows.

He knows our sins and he sees through our excuses.  Even when we lie to ourselves he knows the truth.

He also sits in judgment over us with the authority of an eternal judge and jury.  He hates sin and detests it when we sin.  That is often forgotten, but not by the Psalmist.

The only right response to these revelations is to fall on our face and beg for forgiveness and mercy.

Thankfully the flipside of the Lord’s character is that of unfettered grace.  Because of the debt paid by His son Jesus, we have forgiveness available to us.  If we accept Him as Lord of our lives, we are washed free of our sins and accepted as family.

“The LORD has heard my cry for mercy; the LORD accepts my prayer.” – v. 9

Leave a Reply

