Rise and Shine

Psalm 5:3

In the morning, O Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait in expectation.

For years and years I fought this.  “I’m not a morning person” I said.  “I think better at night” I complained.

That has changed in recent years.  For me it was a matter of schedule.  I wanted to spend more time with my wife at night and I wanted to beat the traffic in the morning so I started waking up earlier and earlier to get in a quiet time and get going.

What I’ve found is that this works better for me than I could have imagined.  Scientists agree that a good breakfast is key to getting off on the right foot for the rest of the day.  The Lord says that we do not live on bread alone.  See where I’m going with this?  Getting in the Word sets the table for the rest of the day and puts me in the right frame of mind.  It isn’t a fail-proof prescription, but it helps.

That isn’t to say that a quiet time at night can’t be just as enriching.  By all means do what works for you and your schedule (and of course any time in the Word is better than none at all).  But do consider at least starting your day off with a quick prayer to approach the day with His priorities, not yours.  It is amazing how benefitial it is to look at things through God’s eyes.  Mountains become molehills and previously overlooked opportunites shine out like beacons to be followed.

So rise and shine with the Lord.  You’ll be blessed because of it.

One thought on “Rise and Shine

  1. I’m enjoying some of your doughnut holes this morning. I think God had the baby settle back down just so I would have the opportunity. Thanks for sharing what God has been teaching you.

    Hmm….now all I need is a real doughnut. Well I guess these don’t have any calories!

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

