Shelter From The Storm

Psalm 2:12

Blessed are all who take refuge in him.

This morning we had severe thunderstorms in our area that brought the rain down in buckets.  By the time I got to my car I might as well have taken a dip in the pool I was so drenched.  But once I got into the car, I was safe from the rain (not to mention the lightning – hey, I’m tall so I worry about these things).

So of course that’s a perfect little analogy of what God gives us.  When life soaks you head to toe and threatens with thunder and lightning, it is comforting to know that we can always run to Him and find shelter and blessing.  He doesn’t promise to take the storm away.  In fact, even sitting in my car I was still soaked from the rain.  Likewise we still feel the effects of the storms of our lives.  However, he provides us a safe haven and a chance to focus on Him.

It is a great place to find perspective too.  When you have the all-powerful God of the universe protecting you, what do you have to fear?  He promises not to give us anything we can’t handle.  So even though the storm may be strong, you can be confident that because of Christ, you are stronger.  And when you need rest, you can find refuge in Him and be blessed because of it.

Leave a Reply

