She Is Worth Far More Than Rubies

Proverbs 31:10-11

A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies.
Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value.

Proverbs 31:30-31

Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.
Give her the reward she has earned, and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.

These are, of course, the bookend verses of the section of Proverbs known as “The Wife of Noble Character”

I don’t have the skill to break down the verses in between with any great detail, but I know there have been numerous books and studies written about these verses.  I would encourage any woman of Faith to study them in depth.  I would encourage any man still seeking a mate to make note of these characteristics.  I would likewise encourage any married or committed men to peruse these verses for ways to praise the woman they are lucky enough to be with.

I can’t say I know what a “distaff” and “spindle” have to do with my wife, but I know she’s a hard worker.  Some of the terms need to be put into the context of the times, but I think the message of respect and esteem comes through clearly.  Some will point to these verses and claim that they are sexist in some way, but I don’t see it.  There are no limitations here, no glass ceiling.  There are some generalizations like the fact that women clothe and feed the family.  But at the time, that was mostly true of women.  And even now, I still believe that most women have a natural nesting instinct.  The key is that the wife of noble character fills her role in the household in a way that earns her praise.

I thank God for my wife, whom I love dearly.  She’s far more valuable than anything in the world to me and want her to know how much I love and admire her.

Leave a Reply

