Carpe Diem

Proverbs 27:1

Do not boast about tomorrow, for you do not know what a day may bring forth.

Remember the heady days of the early dot-com days, when companies like Pets.com were the next big thing?  Remember about a year ago when we were wondering if the real estate bubble would ever burst?  On a personal level, I remember back to college when I could dunk a basketball and play pickup ball for hours on hours.  I figured I’d play until I was 40.  I’m only 33 now, but I can’t do half the stuff I used to do and it frustrates me to no end.

The point is, life throws you curveballs all the time.  Everyone has moments where they feel like things are going pretty well and they’ve got everything under control.  Sometimes we even get into positions where we’re doing better than we could have expected.  The odd thing is that those are the times when we sometimes let down our guard and fall into a little bit of pride.  And you know what they say pride comes before…

So the point of the verse is mostly about not boasting in your good fortune.  I wanted to take it a step further and remind everyone to “carpe diem” (seize the day).  Take a step back and thank God for the blessings in your life.  Find a way to tell your loved ones how much they mean to you.  If you haven’t already, get yourself right with God.  Because you don’t know what tomorrow may bring.

Leave a Reply

