The Rod of Correction

Proverbs 23:13-14

Do not withhold discipline from a child; if you punish him with the rod, he will not die.
Punish him with the rod and save his soul from death.

Funny story that a former boss told me once.  She would use a wooden spoon to spank her daughter when she was acting up at home.  They called it the “rod of correction” based on verses like these.  One day they were out at a store and they came across a display of wooden spoons.  So of course the child says “look Mommy, rod of correction!” for everyone to hear.

Obviously this is a controvercial topic.  How each person choses to discipline their child is up to them (within reason).  However, it seems clear that discipline in some form is absolutely supported and commanded in scripture.  We’d all love to have perfect angels for children and it would be great if we could be the “cool parents” that we vowed to be when we were growing up.  But now we know why those lessons needed to be taught and why we must teach them to our children.

As a new father (4 months old this week!) I’m not looking forward to the first time I have to discipline my baby girl, but I will do it for her own good and I’ll try to always make sure she knows that I am doing it because I love her.  (Easy for me to say in theory, come back and see me in a year and ask me how I’m doing)

Leave a Reply

