Fear and Laziness

Proverbs 22:13

The sluggard says, “There is a lion outside!” or, “I will be murdered in the streets!”

This is an amusing verse.  At first glance, it seems a bit odd.  Doesn’t the author mean “A coward says, “There is a lion outside!”?  Why a “sluggard?”  But I think the point he’s making is that sluggards use fear as an excuse.

  • “I can’t talk to that homeless person, what if they mug me?”
  • “I can’t go on that missions trip, who knows what illness I could come down with over there.”
  • “I can’t share the Gospel with that person, I might turn them off of God.”

The root issue here isn’t fear.  We know that Christ will protect us, provide for us, and care for us.  We know that only God has the power to draw people to Him.  The root issue is our laziness.  Don’t be a sluggard.

One thought on “Fear and Laziness

Leave a Reply

