Working Hard or Hardly Working?

Today’s verses are about hard work (or lack thereof).

A sluggard does not plow in season; so at harvest time he looks but finds nothing. – Proverbs 20:4

I find it telling that the author takes this angle.  Instead of urging us to work hard, he warns us about the folly of not working hard.  The message is “if you are lazy, you have only yourself to blame when you have nothing left.”  The flipside is found in this verse just a few lines later.

Do not love sleep or you will grow poor; stay awake and you will have food to spare. – Proverbs 20:13

The warning is there again, but this time it is followed up with a promise of success.  I’m sure the author isn’t against getting sleep.  A good night’s sleep is critical to being able to work well.  However, the love of sleep seems to describe the actions of a sluggard.

Waking up early isn’t easy, especially when it is still dark out.  I’ve always been a night person and I can’t believe I’m waking up before the crack of dawn these days.  But I feel like I get so much more accomplished in my day when I start it out by pulling myself out of bed and hitting the road early.  I want to provide for my family and build some financial security for them.  I feel encouraged by the Lord that my labors will be fruitful.

One thought on “Working Hard or Hardly Working?

  1. Someone in my office mentioned the other day, “that person has more hours in their day than I do.” I’ve been reflecting on that and wondering what hours I’m wasting and what can value added can I bring to the time I’m awake. That thought has even driven me to stay up a bit later to get more done.

Leave a Reply

