Success is Commitment To The Lord

Proverbs 16:3 – Commit to the LORD whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.

Proverbs 16: 9 – In his heart a man plans his course, but the LORD determines his steps.

Very encouraging stuff here.  There are times when we all feel lost or drifting.  Sometimes we feel like we don’t have a purpose.  But if our purpose is to glorify the Lord, then we are promised success.  It reminds me of Pslam 37:4 “Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.”  He isn’t promising that we will have everything we desire.  He is saying that if we desire and delight ourselves in the Lord, he will draw near to us.

It is somewhat self fulfilling really.  If you commit to the Lord, he will use you as he sees fit and (being the Lord of the universe and all) he’ll succeed in his plans for you.  We have our plans and we have free will (to what degree we have that free will is a deep topic that I haven’t fully researched yet).  But the Lord determines our steps.  That is a very freeing and encouraging notion.

So I continue to commit everything in my life to the Lord.  I commit to being a loving father to Kira.  I commit to being a servant leader to Jen.  I commit to being a dilligent worker for my day job.  I commit to being a respected blogger (and hopefully a positive witness).  I commit to showing love and friendship to my family, friends, and co-workers.  Lord give me the strength to stick to those commitments so that you may use me to glorify you.

Leave a Reply

