God Is Faithful Even When We Are Not

Psalm 89:29-33

“So I will establish his descendants forever And his throne as the days of heaven.
“If his sons forsake My law And do not walk in My judgments,
If they violate My statutes And do not keep My commandments,
Then I will punish their transgression with the rod And their iniquity with stripes.
“But I will not break off My lovingkindness from him, Nor deal falsely in My faithfulness.
“So I will establish his descendants forever And his throne as the days of heaven. “If his sons forsake My law And do not walk in My judgments, If they violate My statutes And do not keep My commandments,Then I will punish their transgression with the rod And their iniquity with stripes.”But I will not break off My lovingkindness from him, Nor deal falsely in My faithfulness.
God’s chosen people strayed away from him again and again in the old testament, only to be restored by a loving, forgiving God (though not before being disciplined).  Once again, I think this is how God treats each of us, like a loving father.
We are obstinate and selfish by our sinful nature.  We know what we should do yet we do what we want to do instead.  Much like children who disobey without a full understanding of why our parents are looking out for our best interest.  So God disciplines us with love so that we might not fall into those same sins again.  How he doles out this punishment is a mystery and different for everyone I imagine.  Sometimes it is not getting what we want (though still getting what we need).  Sometimes it is the guilt associated with what we’ve done.  Or sometimes he “gives us over” to our sin and lets us feel the hurt associated with being in sin.  But the point is that he’s trying to teach us a lesson and it is up to us to find our way back to the straight and narrow.
God, on the other hand, never leaves the path.  He’s consistent.  He’s dependable.  He’s eternal.  He IS, even when we are not.  Even when we break covenants he holds up his end of the bargain.  That speaks to his lovingkindness as much as anything else I can think of.
Leave a Reply

